the time to his death in 1841. – The Blacksmithing business was commenced at Fairbanks’
Mills by a Mr. Allen in 1812, who continued but a short time, and was succeeded by another man by the name of Allen. After
him Robert Bangs prosecuted the business. – Ephraim J Green commenced in 1824 and has since done a good business. –
Daniel Baker has more recently set up the business at the same place, and Hosea Bump at the corner just below. – Charles
Savage from Anson commenced business at the lower part of the village, about 1817, where he did a good business for some years.
He left about 1833 since which time various others have occupied the stand. – Many workmen have set up the business
in different parts of the town, and at different periods, and various shifts have been made too numerous to mention, our object
being to give a clue only to the first rise and progress of various kinds of business pursued in town.
The following is a list of some of the first Carpenters and House Joiners in town.
Moses Starling, Joseph Sylvester, Hugh Cox, Benjamin Butler, Elvaton Parker, Hugh Stewart, Thomas Wendell,
Rufus Davis, Peter West, David Morrill, Jonthan Graves, Lemuel Bursley, Henry Stewart, Daniel Stanley, and Zenas Backus. Many
of these carried on the Cabinet and Chair Making business in the winter season, and most of them were more or less engaged
A Hatter’s shop was built by Robert Baker in 1805 at the Center Village, where he carried on
the business for a few years. When he left it passed into the hands of Samuel Belcher who occupied it as a store. –
In 1811 Christopher Atkinson commenced the hat business at the same place. He built a shop soon after, where he continued
the business for a time. He was followed by Coburn Emerson for short time. Wood & Bond set up the business in 1825. Mr.
Bond soon left, and Mr. Wood continued for some time after. – In 1816 Isaac Hibbard set up the business at the Falls,
where he has continued it most of the time since. – Thomas Spooner commenced business at the same place in 1826, but
Thomas Flint and Hartson Cony were the first two who brought goods into the place to trade upon. Dr.
Flint opened his store in a small building on the farm now improved by John Bailey, and built the first Potash, near what
is called the Old Beaver Dam Brook, not far from the east end of the Center Bridge. Mr. Cony opened his store in a part of
Mr. Church’s log house, in the winter of 1792. Thomas Whittier and Nathaniel Bishop built a store at the Falls and furnished
it with goods about 1796. – This store was afterwards fitted up, and with some additions, changed to a dwelling house,
and is known as the Russ House. Whittier and Bishop sold to Zachariah Butterfield, who continued trading and manufacturing
potash till 1802, when he sold to Jonathan Russ, who continued the business for some time to a considerable