...begin sample page...
another at the same time. The first lumber was shipped from this mill in the autumn of 1839. In September, 1845,
Martin Ryerson and J. H. Knickerbocker bought the mill of Mr. Newell, and in the winter following removed the old mill and
built a new one on the site, and had it ready to run within three months from the time of commencing operations. In 1847
Mr. Knickerbocker sold his interest in the mill to Robt. W. Morris, who continued a partner of Mr. Ryerson until the time
of the sale of his interest in 1865 to the present firm of Ryerson, Hills & Co. The latter firm has made very extensive
repairs and improvements, until but little of the old mill remains, excepting the foundations.
Joseph Stronach built a small water mill in 1842, near the site of the McGraft & Montgomery mill, and run it
until 1844, when he sold it to George and John Ruddiman. The latter afterwards put in a small engine and used water and steam
power at the same time. This double power not proving sufficient for hauling up logs at the same time the saw was in operation,
animal power was also produced and applied to mechanical purposes, an ancient white bull being used to haul up the logs; hence
the origin of the name of the bull-wheel in a saw—mill.One evening in the autumn of 1848, after’ a heavy rain, George Ruddiman heard the
water escaping through the darn, and on repairing to the house after examining it, told the men that in the morning they must
cut some brush arid stop the leak. About two hours afterwards he visited the dam again, finding that the break had increased,
and then said that it would be necessary to haul some sand in order to repair the break. On going out in the morning to begin
work, there was nothing to be