Make your own free website on


Coffee County Tennessee

Myths and Legends of Central U.S. and Great Lakes
Early History Ionia Michigan
Captured by The Indians Mrs. Mary Rowlandson
Centennial History Muskegon Michigan
Life In The Copper Mines of Lake Superior
Campbell County Tennessee
Auglaize County Ohio
Ottawa County Kansas
Carroll County Tennessee
Among the Arapahoe Indians
Aborigines and Explorers of Butler County Pennsylvania
Indian Boyhood Life and Adventures
History of White Earth Indian Reservation in Minnesota
Captivitiy Among the Sioux 1862
Early Settlers of Clark County Illinois
Ellis County Kansas
Inkpaduta Indian Massacre
Ute Indian Massacre 1879
Carter County Tennessee
Sioux Indian Massacre New Ulm Minnesota
Indians of Genesee County Michigan
Indians of Long Island New York
Coffee County Tennessee
Lorain County Ohio
Traditions of Blackfeet Indians
Indian Massacre Cherry Valley New York
Goodhue County Minnesota History
Wellsboro Pennsylvania History
Woodbury County Iowa
Pioneer Life Genesee County Michigan
Columbus Ohio Flood 1913
Giles County Tennessee
Decatur County Tennessee
Jewell County Kansas
Farmington Maine
Jefferson County Nebraska
Pioneer Life Near Dearborn Michigan
Holyoke Massachusetts
Orleans County New York
Hamilton County Ohio
Greenwood County Kansas

History of Coffee County Tennessee
 Extracted from
 Goodspeed’s History of Tennessee 1887 . Historical and Biographical Sketches.

 60 pages





...begin sample page...

South Carolina. Mr. Hickerson settled on Duck River, two miles southwest from Manchester, in the Sixth District; Mr. Smith on Dowdy Creek, in the Fourth District; and Mr. Roberts in Adam Bend of Duck River, in the Fifth District.


The other early settlers of the county were as follows: Hunley and Herald Wiggins, William Murry, Timothy Carroll, James Nelson, Andrew Ervin, James Berry, Lecil Bobo, R. E. Lasater, William S. Waterson, Jesse Wooten, George Arrington, H. Morgan, Samuel Murry, Claiborne Harper, William Howard, D. S. Wright, John and David Hickerson, Louis Carden, Henry Rivers, John L. Taylor, Thomas Allison, Reuben Carden and Joseph Brown, in the neighborhood of Manchester and the sixth District; Reuben George, Robert S. and Adam Rayburn;, William Hodge, William Cross, Norman Norton, Thomas Douglass, Whitley Herald and Robert McCreary in the First District; William Waterson, Sr., Andrew Maxwell, William McFaddin and James Moore in the Second District; Thomas Patton, John Keel, Alexander, James and William McMirtle, Andrew Irwin, Thomas Bell, Jonathan Webster, William Farren and James Cunnegan in the Third District; Smith and Willis Burke, John Blythe, James Prier, William Holland and Henry Wilson in the Fourth District; Duncan Neal, William Bowden, Hugh Davidson, Sr., Hugh Davidson, Jr., William Smith, Harvard Blackman, Benjamin Jenkins and William Barton in the Fifth District; Walter Brixey, S. J. and J. T. Crockett, G. W. Roberts, Abraham Howard, James F. Phillips, Samuel Austell and William Howard in the Seventh District; John Charles, William L. Carden, E. Good, M. C. Phillips, W. C. Charles and James Winton in the Eighth District; Charles Colston, Richard Cunningham, Stephen Winton, Hiram Harpole, David Simpson and David Banks in the Ninth District; William Lackey, John Adcock, Charles Roach, Hugh O'Neal, James Darnell, John Brandon and Daniel Epley in the Tenth District; Robert Bean, James Cunningham, Isham Womack, James Sheid, John Crockett, Sr., Stewart Cowan and P. T. Stephenson in the Eleventh District; William J. Howard, Amos Austell, Peter Willis, H. M. Rutledge and Robert Lackey, in the Twelfth District; William Moore, Benjamin Deckerd, Thomas


Ebay Store The History House