...begin sample page...
Mary Lamb, M. M. Converse, Wheeler & Wilcox, David
Carr, ------ Bunnell, G. W. Navle, John Grey, Seth Watkins, C. L. Wilcox, William Roberts and W. E. Pierson.
This terrible conflagration, coupled with that of only
six months previous, was enough to dishearten the most courageous; but after a short time a reaction took place, and the work
of rebuilding in a more substantial manner commenced, until now Main street is now one of the finest business streets in any
inland village in the country; it is wide and straight, and for two and a half squares the structures are almost exclusively
of brick and stone.
The improvements have not been confined to Main street;
but in all sections of the borough is the hand of improvement seen. Elegant dwellings have been erected, old ones have been
remodeled, streets have been improved, fair grounds have been placed in convenient and proper shape, and loving hands have
beautified the last resting place of the dead. Many pleasant groves are found in various sections of the town, where nestled
beneath the shade of evergreens, cosy cottages are erected, protected from the blasts of winter or the burning heat of summer
by the waving pine or balsam.
The losses by the great fire of 1874 at the time seemed
irreparable, but scarcely a trace of its destructive course is now perceived. The Wellsboro fire department consists of three companies, viz.: Lafayette Engine Company, No. 1, with 65 members;
Alert Hose Company, No. 2, with 35 men; and Eureka Hook and Ladder Company, No. 3, also of 35 men, making a total of 135 men.
The department was organized February 13th 1874, and incorporated. Its first officers were: Thomas B. Bryden, chief engineer;
Walter Sherwood, first assistant; Joseph Williams, second assistant; J. M. Robinson, secretary; Arthur M. Roy, treasurer.
Mr. Bryden served as chief engineer until his death, March 31st 1878. M G.