...begin sample page...
this jail badly out of repair, and that the county was in need of a new one, but no definite action was taken till188, when
J. W. Wiley, J. G. Hardin, W. H. Fisher and others were selected to supervise the erection of a new jail. Their report was
filed April 7, 1884. A new jail was ordered. This is a fine brick structure and is used as the sheriff's residence as well
as the jail. The cells are of the most improved pattern and are deemed entirely safe. The whole cost about $9,000.
poor that were not farmed out to individuals were kept at a small place on the original town plat till 1878, when a farm lying
in the Fourth Civil District was purchased by J. Garret. D. M. Scott, James Jennings and George Morgan from Robert S. Brasher
and others. The farm consists of 200 acres and was purchased for $300. The only outlet for market for the product of Decatur
County at present is by way of the Tennessee River as the county has never had a railroad or turnpike. A proposition is now
before the county asking for $2,000 stock in the Tennessee Midland Railroad, which, if built, will greatly enhance the value
of the property of the county.
settlers in this County were mainly from Middle and East Tennessee or North Carolina. These began to arrive soon after the
extinguishment of the Indian titles in 1818. A few perhaps came earlier as hunters and trappers, but were not permanent settlers,
as the possession by the Indians would preclude a permanent residence. Traditions among old residents make the first entry
into the county as early as 1808 or 1810, but this is hardly true.
In 1822 Thomas Shannon with his wife, five sons and three daughters,
left Davidson County for West Tennessee. Mr. Shannon himself, four negroes and two white men passed down the Cumberland and
Ohio Rivers and up the Tennessee to the southern part of Decatur County. The family came through by land and crossed the Tennessee
at Shannonsville. Mr. Shannon settled near what is now called Point Pleasant. This portion of the county was a portion of
Harden County till 1856. Uncle Jimmy Harris came down the Tennessee and landed at the mouth of a little stream which be named
Cub Creek, doubtless from the number of young bears killed there. The date of his arrival is not known, but he is